Thank you for letting me grow

For the first time in almost six months, the sun shines in my bedroom window onto a bare, wide wooden floor.

My bags are packed, all furniture gone. The only things left are what I hope to cram into my Mom’s car and bring to Miami with me on my next step of this grand adventure.

There is no way to quantify the emotion and sadness I feel about leaving this place I will likely forever call home. The support from my community, my friends, my family is overwhelming; the outpouring of love I’ve received recently feels truly like a blessing. But now, as I sit on the bare floor of the beautiful space I called mine for the past six months, I smile softly about what’s to come. As I said earlier this week, doors have to close for other big ones to open. I have to say a lot of goodbyes to welcome a lot of opportunities and new experiences in my life.

Listening to the saddest tunes ever doesn’t help, necessarily, either, but just work with me here.

Four years ago, on the Saturday before Easter, I rolled into New Orleans ready for the next step of my journey, which was a homecoming to Chattanooga. In four years, I’ve grown into my own, as an adult, as a professional, as an aspiring yogi and as a HUMAN BEING. I’ll be the first to admit I still have a lot to work on with communication, especially with those that I love the most. But the work is what makes it fun, what keeps it interesting.

Sometimes it’s hardest to admit to the people closest to you that the winds are blowing your sails in a new direction. But I’m working with the wind, I’m charting my course, and I’m thinking and planning for the future. For fun, for opportunity and for love.

Chattanooga will always be close to my heart, and it will always be my second home.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t sitting on my floor crying to J.J. Cale and Beck songs, trying to get myself ready to walk to yoga. I’m assisting tonight before going out to dinner and drinks with my friends. Tomorrow I’m having breakfast with my Dad at a little diner on Market Street, and then my stepdad and Mom are picking me up. We’re packing the car and driving to Miami. Spring break 2013 comes to life.

This stream of consciousness isn’t my preferred delivery method of writing, but sometimes, when I’m exhausted and overwhelmed and excited and scared…

Listening to my heart and letting it shine is all I’ve got.

SO begins a new journey, the next step. The moving is done, thanks to the help of my beautiful mama lady friends, bikey friends and family. The bags are packed. Jeff is waiting for me in sunny Miami, as are many opportunities to teach yoga, to flex my creativity as a writer and an editor… my opportunity to experience a new culture, be welcomed into a new circle, learn and see new things.

Community shapes who I am, reflects the good (and bad) points, and most of all, lets me grow. Thank you, friends, family, connections, people I pass on the street… for allowing me to be me, and for allowing me to grow. Your support has given root, has given meaning to who I am. I only hope to serve others as you have served me.

The light in me honors the light in you. Namaste!

Miami, HERE I COME!

2 thoughts on “Thank you for letting me grow

  1. On Endings and Our Final Weekend – LadyEllJay

Leave a Reply

